Parenting a Spirited Child

In my attempt to bring more joy to my life I decided to look at the areas of my life where I find myself struggling. I spend my days at home with 3 children under the age of 5. My days are long and busy and just plain crazy at times – but motherhood brings me great joy. However, parenting a spirited child is HARD.

Four and a half years ago I gave birth to a sweet, spirited little boy. A little boy who in every phase of life has pushed me. If you are a fellow mom to a spirited child – I see you. I know your struggles. You are not alone. Spirited children require more from us.

For years I’d say to myself, “E is pushing my buttons” or “E is pushing me to my limit”. I’ve slowly come to realize how wrong I am. He is pushing me beyond my limits and into a better mother and person. He needs more from me -more of the best version of me. I’ve had to grow into the mom he needs. The mom that gives more hugs and kisses, has more patience, picks her battles so she can say “yes” more. 

The days I am truly intentional with him are the days that I get the best of him – and that is the greatest joy.


3 thoughts on “Parenting a Spirited Child

  1. messybunsandbabybums March 28, 2017 / 5:05 pm

    I love this. I struggle a lot with Payton pushing me daily. She’s the most strong willed child I’ve ever known. She makes me want to pull my hair out most days, but looking at it in another way definitely helps!

    Like

    • Ashley March 28, 2017 / 5:16 pm

      It’s so hard some days. In the last month I’ve noticed a big difference. I don’t know if it’s our approach with him or just him maturing. Babies 2&3 have also been a breeze so hopefully you’ll have the same luck – can’t wait to see pictures when she arrives!

      Liked by 1 person

      • messybunsandbabybums March 28, 2017 / 5:17 pm

        I’m hoping they will be total opposites. Idk what I’ll do if they’re both this hard. Haha I mean I know parenting isn’t a walk in the park but I’ve definitely had to up my patience level 🙂 I’m hoping pics will come soon. I’m SOO ready to pop her out!

        Like

Leave a Reply

