Five years of marriage ❤

My husband and I weren’t supposed to get together. He was a friend of an ex of mine and, according to him back then, we had nothing in common. We spent months convincing ourselves, and each other, how terrible of an idea dating would be – but in the end we both made each other happy and decided to give it a shot.

Less than a year later we found ourselves unexpectedly pregnant and got married days after our one year dating anniversary. In the 5 years since then we had two little boys, my husband graduated college and got a job that moved us from the only state – and all the people – we’d ever known, and welcomed a baby girl this past November.

We’ve kept busy. Life is busy. Today marks 5 years of marriage. When we got married we talked about traveling to Napa Valley for our five year anniversary – seeing the West Coast and drinking expensive wine. Instead, I’m sitting on the couch nursing our 3 month old. My 4 year old is in his room for the 3rd time today – this time for hitting his brother with a train track. My two year old fell off a chair and busted his lip and nose an hour ago.

That’s the reality of married life (at least married life with kids!). Except, it’s actually quite wonderful. My husband worked from home today and in the midst of all the commotion, as I reached my breaking point for the day – or more like the week, he wrapped his arms around me and that moment showed  what I already know – he is my safe place.

Marry your best friend and you won’t ever regret it. Marry someone who makes ordinary life better than your dream vacation – or at least close to it (let’s be real, I could use a trip to California!).

Happy anniversary babe. There’s no one I’d rather do life with. 

3 thoughts on “Five years of marriage ❤

  1. Betty March 29, 2017 / 12:53 pm

    You are a great couple with a beautiful family.. Napa Valley will always be there.. these days watching your children learn and grow will not.. enjoy.. love the story

    Like

  2. Britt March 30, 2017 / 10:01 am

    So beautiful! ❤️ That way you looked at him that day will lead to nothing but love! (I hope!) My theory is there is so much pressure of the “gotcha picture” when a husband first sees his bride that no one ever looks for the shot where the bride is over the moon about her groom. My theory is when you are more excited about your spouse than the wedding only good can come from it.

    Like

    • Ashley March 30, 2017 / 11:16 am

      Thank you! We were definitely of the mindset that our wedding was for our friends and family, the marriage is for us. We had a great time, but it was just one day put of hopefully 50+ years together!

      Like

Leave a Reply

